Wizards with Guns and Tricorn Hats

Next set of painted models for my Warmachine slow grow army – the Arcane Tempest Gun Mages:

Arcane Tempest Gun Mages
(Click through to Flickr for a larger pic)

There is something inherently cool about warlocks with arcane flintlock pistols and tricorn hats, so a unit of Gun Mages was a natural unit choice for my Kara Sloan Warmachine battlegroup.

They’re quite a versatile bunch also, able to augment their magelock pistols with extra range or critical damage/knockdown. A good harassing unit, apparently, and with the Unit Attachment (the officer) they can shoot a wider range of targets, such as stealthed models, and even marshal a ‘jack for some fun.

Painting wise I am pretty happy with them, especially as it’s the first unit I’ve had to bulk paint like this in some years. To speed things up I gave them a three stage first airbrushing with dark green -> mid blue -> light blue. This meant that when it came to their coats and hats I only really needed to pick out some highlights and deep shadows/creases before glazing back with a mid blue to smooth things out and richen the overall tone.

I wasn’t really watching the clock but I think they averaged about 2-3 hours per model.

I got to use them in my second round league game on Tuesday and they performed well enough in their first outing. A battle report of that match will follow shortly.

Next miniature in the painting lineup will be the solo Captain Arlan Strangeways. He’s actually not too far off as I had to ensure he had enough paint on him to qualify for a painting point in the league!

~ by Max Von Deadlock on January 26, 2012.

Leave a comment