Cordelia Turner and her Emo Attitude

I was unexpectedly out of the country on business last week, which somewhat hindered my plans to get Scarface and Cordelia both finished in time to be entered into the Data Sphere Autumn painting campaign.

I did try an intense painting session over the weekend to see if I could blitz Scarface but, as a big old TAG, there’s just so much area to cover and I realised it was not going to be possible without some eye strain and backache.

Anyway, it was good motivation to make progress and I managed to get his little sister, Cordelia, completely done.

Here she is with all her emo attitude,

Cordelia Turner Miniature

Cordelia Turner Miniature

Cordelia Turner Miniature

Cordelia Turner Miniature

Cordelia Turner Miniature

There’s a lot of detail going on in a relatively small area so maybe the decision to freehand her t-shirt, Domino eye make-up and the ripped stockings might be a little too much but hopefully that’s mitigated by the use of a restricted colour palette.

And here’s how Scarface is looking alongside her in his WIP state,

Cordelia and WIP Scarface

Doesn’t really show in the photo but I have to say I’m really pleased with how that purple is working as a shade for the green. I’ve mentioned it before in a post I wrote about colour theory but you can achieve some really rich looking colours if add a hue shift.

~ by Max Von Deadlock on September 1, 2015.

5 Responses to “Cordelia Turner and her Emo Attitude”

  1. These look great! I continue to be in awe of your brush-fu.

    Like

  2. I guess this blog isn’t updated any more, but just want to say that your minis look sweet as hell and I’m stealing your
    O-12 Commissioner colour scheme. šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Hi there, you may not recall but we met last year at the Dark Sphere painting afternoon.

    Just saw the finalised Cordelia and she looks ace! Glad to have seen the build up first hand.

    Ciaran

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
