Seiji Bushido Commission

Gone quiet again on the blog, really must rectify that.

Anyway, in the meantime, here’s a little commission piece I did for GCT Studios: Seiji, a Temple of Ro-Kan warrior monk chap.

I’ve been really enjoying doing the little flowers on the bases for these Bushido minis. Basically it involves laying down some static grass and then dabbing a little spot of PVA glue followed by some flower flock placed carefully with a cocktail stick. Looks quite authentic I think.

I really struggled to get a decent photo of this miniature and the cameras I tried just couldn’t capture the orange at all. Shame because I was really pleased with the red shadow tones on his fightin’ trousers.

As a result I felt justified in getting a new camera, so I went out and bought a Fuji X-M1 Compact System camera as it seems like an important investment if I’m going to be doing professional commission stuff. After a quick play with the new camera I managed to get the following shot of the good old Space Bulldog I painted a couple of years back.

Space Bulldog Redux

I decided to put a penny next to him as people often don’t appreciate just how small the pieces are when they see a blown up photograph. At least now they can get a sense of scale.

Look forward to exploring its capabilities further with some new minis. Watch this space.

~ by Max Von Deadlock on June 2, 2014.

2 Responses to “Seiji Bushido Commission”

  1. Out of interest and possibly attempting it myself – what exactly is flower flock? The effect does come across really well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
