The firm but fair 2014 games embargo

I know they’re all the rage at this time of year but I’m not going to do much more than a passing review of 2013.

Generally speaking I had a good year hobby-wise, I think.

My painting has come on further both in quality but also significantly in terms of speed. I’ve reached a good level of confidence that I can get results I’ll be happy with, but best of all I know I’ll be able to do it in hours and not weeks. As the year progressed I moved toward fast-painting squads of minis rather than single showcase ones. I tend to swing back and forth between wanting to paint to game (it’s what got me into the hobby after all) and painting for competition and display. Right now I am most definitely in a gaming mode but I can see that oscillating back again. Ideally I want to mix and match – working on tabletop stuff at the same time as getting serious and pushing myself to improve technique.

Sadly I let the blog fall fallow at the end of the year, after a productive spurt of Infinity painting for a mini league at the local club in the autumn.

I’m feeling pretty revved up now though and have set myself a number of goals in terms of painting and playing. I’ve spoken a few times before on the blog about that madness that grips us in the hobby and how we’re forever adding shiny new stuff to the grey pile. I’ve decided that this year it’s time to get in control of the situation and have therefore decided to self-impose a draconian embargo on buying any new games or miniatures this year.

That’s right: I’M BUYING NO GAMES OR MINIATURES IN 2014!!

For years I’ve been in acquisition mode and I realised that I spend more time looking out for and buying new stuff than I do enjoying the stuff I already have. I’m sure this is a feature of our capitalist or materialist way of life and all that but I’ve just kind of had a bit of a wake up call.

To clarify, I’m talking about card/board/video/ tabletop games and tabletop miniatures. Kickstarted or pre-ordered projects may still trickle in but I won’t be backing any new ones in 2014.

Now I must apologise to the FLGS and online stores and manufacturers whose products I love and want to support but I really do need to get back to that joy of playing and painting and to see that unpainted pile diminish.

OK, you gotta hold me to this one. Really 🙂

~ by Max Von Deadlock on January 2, 2014.

4 Responses to “The firm but fair 2014 games embargo”

  1. Hey, discovered your blog around the time you took a break; love your work, man.

    I completely know where you are coming from regarding just enjoying what you have vs always getting new projects going. I hadn’t made such an ironclad vow for 2014 but I am definitely going to be stepping back from buying as well. I realized one of the aspects of my hobby that suffers the most from having too large a queue is terrain! Hopefully this will be the year I build more.

    Like

    • Thanks, Prodigal.

      This year was something of a terrain year for me as I did a shed load of Infinity stuff for the local games club and I just did a good batch of WW2 terrain for my home table, with more to come.

      I have a feeling the embargo will be good for me as it encourages me to get serious about the unpainted minis.

      Heading over to check out your blog now 🙂

      Like

  2. When I see you at Salute I’ll remind you of your vow 🙂

    Like

    • Heh, please do 🙂

      I was actually pretty restrained last year but I fear it will be difficult to wander around our equivalent of the worlds biggest candy store without buying a single thing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

 
