System Infinity

I think that lasercut MDF terrain has been a great innovation for the tabletop wargaming hobby. It means that we can get hold of very reasonable priced terrain pieces that are fairly well detailed, sturdy and easy to mail (they turn up flat-packed).

One manufacturer I’m sure I’ve mentioned before is Sarissa Precision, who have a rather nice sci-fi range called System Infinity. I don’t think it’s that much of a coincidence that the range fits perfectly with the sci-fi skirmish game of the same name!

Anyway, the Cross Gaming Club have pooled some funds and shelled out for a full set of the stuff and I have volunteered my services to assemble and paint them.

Having scoured the internet and my collection of concept art books we’ve decided to go for a Mass Effect style colour scheme, rather than the grimy industrial look that is so ubiquitous thanks to the gothic future stylings of Warhammer 40K.

First up will be a single habitation module as a test piece.

System Infinity Terrain, by Sarissa Precision

It comes with a set of railings to go around the top but I think I’ll be leaving them off for now as they’re a bit spindly and I can’t imagine them lasting too long being packed away in a hurry after a game.

Once we’ve settled on a colour scheme I will be embarking on getting the rest done over the coming months. There’s plenty of pods, modules, silos and gantries to keep me busy!

System Infinity Terrain, by Sarissa Precision

~ by Max Von Deadlock on October 18, 2012.

4 Responses to “System Infinity”

  1. Very nice! I’ve been taking a look at some suppliers of this myself recently as we’re looking at starting a pirate game and finding some nice 3D ships would rock. Definitely looking forwards to seeing more fitted together and especially painted, excellent choice on the colour scheme btw! 😉

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Miniature Musings of a Bear.

    Like

  3. Really looking forward to seeing what you come up with. From the concept images that were thrown about it seems like they could be cool, and it iwill be nice to have something different from the rest of the stuff out there.

    Like

  4. Go Max! It looks good unpainted, it will look amazing after you slap some paint in your usual masterclass way. Can’t wait.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
