Hassassin Fiday

Hassassin Fiday is absolutely badass. Seriously, there’s something about the miniature and how he plays in game that just drips ice cool menace.

I’ve been wanting to do the mini justice for ages and have even had him sat on the painting table in various stages of basecoat but never gotten around to focusing on him. Guess I was scared to balls up the paint job. The little dude would probably shiv me in the night if I messed him up!

Anyway, with my current momentum for painting Infinity minis at a high I figured I should just crack on.

I probably spent a little longer than I should have to get him tabletop ready, but sometimes I can’t help myself going back and re-blending or glazing or whatever.

Haqqislam Hassassin Fiday

Haqqislam Hassassin Fiday

Haqqislam Hassassin Fiday

The breastplate shading came out really nicely. I was thinking about camouflaging, but I was so chuffed with the it plain I decided to leave it.

I feel like I’ve got a good red recipe going on with these Haqqislam minis so far, and can slap it on fairly quickly now. I also like the little green lights on the back of his helmet, complete with a subtle bit of OSL (object source lighting) on the back armour.

And a bit of an experiment but I think the green digital cabling effect came out ok. Something a bit different.

Being critical I think the red-yellow-green colours are a bit too primary. As a rule I try to keep the colour schemes simple with only one or at most two primaries, lest the mini can end up looking a bit clown-like. A good tip for new painters that one. A common mistake seems to be picking out a new bright colour for each section. Much better to stick to a simple harmonious colour scheme.

Talking of colours, I’m pretty chuffed with the spectrum effect on the visor – achieved by basic shading with a pale yellow and then ink glazing red on the left and green on the right.

~ by Max Von Deadlock on August 24, 2012.

3 Responses to “Hassassin Fiday”

  1. Very nice – especially like the green cabling, cool idea, works really well I think. Didn’t notice the visor until you mentioned it tbh, though does look cool too.

    Like

  2. He looks very very nice. Reminds me rather a lot of Master Chief or Halo.

    Like

  3. […] and the visor came out well I think. Similar to the Fiday visor I did a base yellow highlight to white and then went back with a green ink glaze on the left […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
