Prodigal Max Returns to the 41st Millenium

Tomorrow marks quite a significant day in the miniature wargaming hobby as Games Workshop release the sixth edition of their flagship gaming product: Warhammer 40,000.

In an interesting move, GW have opted to play their cards close to their chest and shared very little information about the game in the months leading up to tomorrow’s release. It seems like a shrewd move to me as they’re a company who have a fair share of haters out there in the harsh realm of the interweb.

Love ’em or hate ’em no-one can deny the strength of their IP and contribution to the hobby. Would we be enjoying this “golden age” in miniature wargaming if not for them?

Anyway, enough of that, I’d best not flick any more matches at that particularly flammable topic.

It was 40K that got lil’ Max entranced by the hobby way back when, and it was 40K that drew me back a few years ago, embarking on a path of re-discovery and introducing me to a host of great skirmish games and miniatures.

And of course, encouraging me to take those tentative steps into the world of blogging.

Now, having drifted away from the GW fold again to play “grown up games” like Malifaux, Infinity, Warmachine, etc, I wonder how much this 6th Edition will lure me back.

To be honest, I doubt that changes to the rule system will cause that significant an overhaul to the feel of the game, though they are touting a more cinematic experience – a good thing in my book.

Regardless, I’m intrigued enough to pick up the book tomorrow and, if the last iteration of the Warhammer Fantasy Battle rulebook is anything to go by, I expect it’ll be a mighty tome with fantastic production values and plenty of eye-candy – as we’ve come to expect from GW.

I have a feeling that it will serve as nice motivation for me to get my Emperor’s Children and Blood Angels finished up and table-ready. I’m also hoping that the rumoured alliance rules will allow me to field proper Slaanesh Daemons with my Emperor’s Children. Noe of this vanilla generic summoned daemon business.

Let’s get fluffy!

~ by Max Von Deadlock on June 29, 2012.

2 Responses to “Prodigal Max Returns to the 41st Millenium”

  1. I’m going to Wood Green’s GW Saturday morning to pick up the new rulebook. Fancy coming along?

    I feel the urge to point out that I always encouraged the use of Daemons from the Chaos Daemon codex 😀

    Oh, and of course, Tau can now ally with Daemons… Oh yeah baby, let’s see who sucks in close combat when I have a bloodthirster backing me up 😉

    Like

    • I think I am going to see if I can grab one from Dark Sphere tomorrow. Have fun at Wood Green.

      Kudos to you for prioritising the fluff, Lars. And of course, it’s largely thanks to your enthusiasm at the MCM Expo thing that I got back into the hobby 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

 
