Poor Little Bloggie

Ah, poor neglected little blog o’ mine. Best get back to giving you the attention you deserve, eh?

OK, apologies for the absence. No excuses, just haven’t really been in the mood to post lately. Sorry about that. Just a blip, I’m sure.

Right, what have I been up to then since last we spoke?

Well there was the Warmachine Slow Grow, which culminated in a one-day tournament. I won one of my four games, so that’s an improvement on my previous tournament performances! I did also share the dubious honour of fastest defeat (damn Retribuition mage hunters), less said about that the better.

Happily though, I was also voted runner-up for painted army. Here they all are in their sunday best for a group shot:

50pt Cygnar Army

I decided to do the base arcs in a strong blue colour but looking back I think it’s a bit much so will tone them back down. And I’ll do away with Kara’s blue-yellow checkering. Probably reverting to just a little Cygnar icon at front and centre.

After the Slow Grow I took a bit of a step back from the painting as I was suffering from some inconvenient headaches. My theory is that it’s a combination of a change in my eye prescription and also painting under a cheap light. I’m short-sighted and have pretty good close-up vision, thankfully, but over the whole day I think my eyes are working harder than they need to. New glasses are on their way.

As for the light, it did give me a good excuse to upgrade to a fancy new hobby lamp, as recommended by many of the Platoon Britannica painters. More on that soon.

Platoon Britannica Meetup, June 2012

Platoon Britannica Meetup, June 2012Talking of PB, this weekend just gone was the second regional meetup for forum members, and yours truly took it upon himself to book it all in with Dark Sphere.

It turned out to be a lot of fun.

Attendance was low again, but the store had some other stuff going on so we didn’t feel too lonely! There’s something very nice about chilling out with people to paint, share tips and put forum names to faces.

Also a shout out to Dark Sphere who were gracious hosts.

Hoping to make it more of a regular occurrence I’ll be looking to book something in the next few months.

I’ve got quite a few projects on the go (as ever), first of which is the Vampire Countess from Avatar of War that I was painting at the meetup. Here she is:

Vampire Countess WIP Vampire Countess WIP

Other stuff I shall be keeping you up to date on will be that 3D Incursion board (significant progress being made there), Flames of War German armour, and some Infinity Aleph.

Watch this space.

~ by Max Von Deadlock on June 20, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
