Quick Slow Grow

So I’ve signed up to take part in a slow grow Warmachine / Hordes tournament in the New Year.

I’m excited to play as I’ve had some Warmachine minis for quite some time now but never gotten around to playing them properly. It, and its sister game, Hordes, are very popular at the Cross Gaming Club, so I figured I’d take them up on the league.

“Slow grow” sounds like a fun format as well. You basically start with a small 15 point list and then every few weeks the point limit bumps up by 10 points or so.

It sounds like it’s probably quite welcoming to new players, particularly as most are treating it as an opportunity to try out new factions.

I’m going to be sticking with Cygnar, but am using an unknown caster in Captain Kara Sloan. Sounds like her lists are all very shooty, which is something I quite fancy playing.

The league is not being played too seriously – again a relief for us noobs – and there’s supposed to be some fluff-based matchups in one round, and there are also points being awarded for fielding a fully painted force.

So, again a great incentive for me to get some of my minis painted. And I am trying to focus on getting stuff to a decent tabletop standard in as quick a time as possible.

First up is the mercenary solo Reinholdt, Gobber Speculator.

Reinholdt, Gobber Speculator Reinholdt, Gobber Speculator

I got him all painted and based in just over three hours, which I am pretty chuffed with. It’s nice to get models finished so quickly that they barely have a chance to sit around on the painting table, and it fills me with hope that I will actually be able to get them all painted in time.

Reinholdt is a nice complement to Kara, apparently, allowing her to make repeated use of her big nasty rifle.

Tonight I also got working on Squire, a cute mini steamjack and another support model who grants the caster extra focus points. Hopefully I can get him finished tomorrow and post him up here in the next day or two.

After that will be Kara herself, and two heavy warjacks (a Cyclone and a Defender) which will round out my 15 point starting force.

~ by Max Von Deadlock on December 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
