Oh So Tiny Flyers

Had my game of Malifaux with James yesterday. A Battle Report will follow soon, but in the meantime I have been slowly working my way through the Dystopian Wars fleet.

Latest progress is a pair of colour tests for the flyer tokens.

Dystopian Wars Flyer Tokens

I thought I would do two colour schemes for a couple of reasons:

Firstly, so that I could easily differentiate between squadrons and/or plane types in game – ie fighters, dive bombers, etc.

Secondly, and perhaps more importantly, so that I didn’t go completely insane painting sixteen of the little buggers!

Anyway, I’m really quite pleased with them. They were pretty quick to do, thankfully, and I like the colour schemes. Particularly happy with the insignia on the green fighters and also the sea effect on the base. Again, both were quick and easy to do.

The insignia was simply a little blob of white, then a smaller blob of red in the middle.

For the sea/waves I laid down a deep blue-green base, then stippled on some white with an old brush I use for drybrushing. Next I used a thinnish glaze of Vallejo Turquoise to smooth it out and give the undulating ripple effect. Finally I painted some very thin white lines to represent the crest of the waves – kind of tracing the front line of the stippled patches. Again, results were pretty quick.

~ by Max Von Deadlock on May 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
