Steel and Brass

I’m excited to have my first game of Dystopian Wars lined up tonight down at the Cross Gaming Club.

I must confess that I’ve not really got to grips with the rules so I’m hoping my opponent is happy enough to talk me through them. Something about the way the rulebook is laid out has made it hard for me to absorb them for some reason. The layout feels a bit patchy and there always seem to be exceptions dotted about.

From what I hear it is quite a fast playing and simple game though, so I’m sure it’ll all come together easily enough when we start pushing them little ships around the sea.

I’ve not yet got the whole fleet painted up, but I have been making steady progress on them.

Dystopian Wars WiP

Right now, I’m in the process of dealing with the metallic areas as you can see in the above pic.

Dystopian Wars has a Steampunk setting, so I wanted there to be plenty of brass and steel on display throughout the models. Therefore I’ve chosen to paint all the portholes, doors and tanks in a sort of brown- gold colour like something out of 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea.

I’ve got a bit more shading to do on the hull areas and will probably highlight the panel lines a bit. I am also thinking of making it all look quite heavily weathered, with grime and oil stains all over the place.

Oh yeah, I also need to get some deep red on the torpedoes, chimneys and insignia.

Watch this space for more progress, and hopefully a battle report/review following tonight’s game.

– Admiral Max

~ by Max Von Deadlock on May 5, 2011.

3 Responses to “Steel and Brass”

  1. Nice work as always, be interesting to see what you think of the game itself.

    With even TC getting the brushes out, I might have to get around to painting my own.

    Like

    • Cheers.

      And I had noticed the tumbleweed blowing about the Dojo 😉

      Like

      • Yeah, I’ve been distracted by work, Minecraft, Portal 2, Assassins Creed: Brotherhood, Game of Thrones, LotR card game, etc. etc. – though mainly I just haven’t felt like painting much. I have painted a Performer, and started on Cassandra but couldn’t manage to get a good photo and got frustrated trying.

        I don’t worry so much any more, I know what I am like; I will drift back to painting soon. I’m half tempted to get started on the ships tonight, though I have to be up at 5am(!) tomorrow for a conference, so I doubt I’ll get much done.

        Like

Leave a Reply

 
