The Clock is Ticking

It’s gone quiet round here again, I apologise for that.

I’ve been slowly progressing the Salute entries though and will endeavour to take a few pictures later.

I’ve finished Pandora now. Applied a first varnish coat to her which I left to dry overnight, so now she just needs a quick spray of Testors Dullcote to matt down the finish again.

For the Preacher, I’ve almost finished building her base. Latest addition is a Japanese lantern which I am pretty pleased with. Next up will be some additional texturing, and sculpting a Koi carp – which will be interesting. I’m very inexperienced when it comes to sculpting, so a submerged fish seems suitably low risk!

I played around in Photoshop with some colouring schemes for the Preacher herself, but nothing conclusive came out of it. Need to think about that. And think fast!

The clock is ticking…

~ by Max Von Deadlock on March 25, 2011.

3 Responses to “The Clock is Ticking”

  1. I always find there is a huge gulf between what I think I will be able to achieve in a given timeframe and what I actually get done. The 1 week => 1 month rule seems convervative sometimes.

    Like

    • I know what you mean. Until the pressure is really on and the deadline is imminent, I find that I’m thinking “oh, I’ve got the whole weekend of painting ahead”. And end up spending a mere couple of hours on Saturday and/or Sunday.

      For me it’s mostly about just sitting down and getting started. It’s odd how much I procrastinate beforehand because I really enjoy it once I’m going.

      Another issue is that I have to curfew myself midweek. If I am still painting gone 10pm I really struggle to get to sleep in good time.

      As last night, just tidying bits on Pandora and putting the varnish on at about 11pm was enough to keep me awake an hour later than I’d have liked!

      Like

      • My problem is that I will be thinking about stuff during the day at work and will be all fired up to paint or model or whatever, but by the time I’ve got home, had food, and gotten William into bed the fire has died down and I am knackered.

        Like

Leave a Reply

 
