Have paints, will travel

This time last year I took the lady Gigi* away to a spa for her birthday.

This year, in attempt to stave off the winter blues, we’re heading down to the perpetually sunny climes of the Canary Islands for a week of relaxation. Therefore there will probably be a break in service on the blog as I’m not sure what our internet situation will be.

However, that doesn’t mean to say that I won’t be painting. What I’ve done the last few times we’ve gone away is to take a little travel painting kit with me. Other people take books and suntan lotion – for me it’s a palette, water pot, brushes, and a carefully selected supply of Vallejo acrylics!

Neither of us are real sun worshippers. We’re not going to just lie on a lounger on the beach all day, rotating slowly like hogs on a spit. Though with our pale complexions and propensity to wear black the sun might cause some sizzling!

In the aforementioned spa trip last year I made significant progress on my Flames of War Panzergrenadiers. At Dragon*Con in September I painted quite a lot of baby Kade. So next week, while the lady is off being pummelled in some sort of Balinese massage treatment, I intend to get my paints out on the balcony and work on my Malifaux Neverborn crew.

It’s going to be great.

* I have an absurd temptation to refer to her, Columbo style, as Mrs Von Deadlock. Not sure she’d approve. She does read this blog after all – more out of duress and a strange fascination, than any desire to play with toy soldiers.

~ by Max Von Deadlock on January 20, 2011.

2 Responses to “Have paints, will travel”

  1. I did the same recently on a work trip overseas. Took some paints and some miniatures in order to get them painted up for a tournament. Worked out well but I wonder what the hotel room cleaners thought when they saw all my paints out on the desk 😉

    Like

    • Heh. I find it works really well. This recent trip was great as there was a balcony with plenty of good light. I did pack away after each session though so as not to freak out the cleaners!

      Thanks for stopping by by the way 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

 
