Battlefoam Case Review

Happy New Year one and all!

Well, I’ll start this year off with a quick review of an excellent product which has solved the problem of how to transport my Malifaux minis about – the Battlefoam P.A.C.K. C4.

Battlefoam Pack C4 Case

Most miniature carrying cases seem to be built to transport loads of miniatures for the larger scale games, such as Warhammer 40,000, Flames of War, and other more beardy wargames (you know, the ones featuring hoplites, muskets, etc). Quite probably because of the small numbers of minis required (to paint) I find myself gravitating to the smaller scale skirmish games – such as Malifaux and Infinity.

So I was on the lookout for a smaller case which was easy to carry, and which I could fit inside my normal day bag so I could go straight over the Gaming Club from work, for example.

Step up, Battlefoam Pack C4. The perfect answer to that particular problem.

The case itself is lightweight but seems sturdy enough to offer adequate protection to the minis. The version I got came with a single two inch layer of pluck foam. This stuff is so called because it is ready-perforated for you to “pluck” out the foam sections as you choose.

There are three main divisions to the case.

Firstly, there’s a velcro-closed front pocket which could be used to store a few sheets, area templates, etc. Currently I’m not using this as it keeps the front profile flat.

Battlefoam Pack C4 Case

Immediately behind this is the first zipped section and it’s genius. Unzipping it you find a shallow section with a built in ring binder – which is perfectly designed to hold perforated clear card sheets (the sort used to store CCG cards for example). This is ideal for those game stat cards, and you can see here how my Malifaux cards stat cards fit nicely. I’ve got about five or so sheets in there but there’s easily room for more.

Flipping it over there’s the main zipped section which holds the minis themselves. I’ve plucked out 20 odd individual compartments which easily fit the Malifaux minis and their slightly oversized 30mm bases. I’ve also got room for a couple of larger compartments which hold a Fate Deck, dice, counters, etc.

Battlefoam Pack C4 Case

Overall it’s a great case but if I have one complaint it’s that the foam section should have a thin foam layer atop it to close off the pluck foam – maybe built into the lid section? Instead I have retained individual pluck foam pieces to keep the minis in place and add a bit of vertical protection.

It’s a minor complaint though, for what is generally an excellent product and perfect for my requirements.

~ by Max Von Deadlock on January 2, 2011.

2 Responses to “Battlefoam Case Review”

  1. Disclaimer: I did not intend the term “beardy wargame” to be derogatory. I have a (rather silly) beard myself and obviously am a wargamer.

    It was a more colourful way of referring to the historical wargame.

    Played by be-sandled beardy people. Oops.

    Like

  2. I may be a bit late to the party here, but it’s good that someone I know like Battle Foam.
    I am on the cusp of buying some myself…

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
