In the studio

Because I’m a city dweller, I sadly don’t have the luxury of dedicated gaming/hobby space in our Central London flat.

Instead, I utilise our table for all my painting needs and, thankfully, Gigi is extremely understanding of all my miniature related clutter which has a tendency to spread all over the living room like a lead and plastic algae!

She is so understanding in fact that last year for my birthday she bought me a Games Workshop Paintstation.

The Paint Station

This is a great little piece of kit.

It comes flat packed and, true to the hobby, you need to assemble and glue it yourself. Once assembled though, you’ve got the perfect little work area for painting and it has some handy handles so you can keep everything in situ while lifting the whole thing out of the way. When I’m not painting it tends to live up on top of a filing cabinet out of harm’s way.

As you can see in the pic, I don’t even keep my paintstation especially tidy.

Hmm, looking at it I really could do with clearing that up a bit. I expect there will be some Feng Shui calmness as a result.

Paint Collection

You’ll see also that I have amassed a sizeable collection of paints. I like having lots of paints so I don’t have to mix and can keep my colours consistent. That said, my painting style is drifting more toward a freeform colour mixing and I often just throw in a little bit of deep blue or beige when I am coming up with a shade or highlight colour.

I think I’ll probably do a more detailed post at some point on my painting style, techniques and colours. Something which I’ve been developing somewhat over the recent months.

So there you have it. A little glimpse into Max Von D’s painting “studio”.

~ by Max Von Deadlock on May 26, 2010.

2 Responses to “In the studio”

  1. Don’t forget your undercoating/spray painting room, aka the bathroom! I’m still not sure how you haven’t passed out from the fumes whilst spraying stuff in there – it doesn’t even have a window!

    Like

    • Heh. The key is the extractor fan. Using the bathroom for spraying was actually a recommendation from somewhere, I can’t remember where.

      I tend not to spray too much so the fumes aren’t really a problem. The main thing is the temperature and humidity when spraying outdoors or by an open window. It’s obviously not so much of a problem now but in the colder/wetter months it has a negative impact on the paints. Especially the dullcote which can come out glossy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

 
