Pinning, how do I love thee

I’m being sarcastic. Contrary to the sonnet-inspired title, I really hate pinning.

In fact I’m just not into preparing my miniatures at all, preferring to get to the painting as fast as I can without worrying about crap like mould lines, cleaning/smoothing surfaces, filling joins, etc.

But, like DIY, without good preparation the final results really will suffer.

I hate DIY too by the way.

Anyway, the reason I’m saying this is that I’m at the preparation stage of my Resurrectionist Malifaux crew and, though I’ve got them all assembled, I still have some pinning work to do so I can paint them separately from their bases and then attach them using a couple of thin rods when finished.

Dual-Chuck Pin ViceNow the thing about most of the Wyrd miniatures range is that, unlike those chunky GW minis, they’re pretty spindly. So I’m having to drill very carefully with a tiny (0.5mm) drill bit and use very thin brass pins. In the past I’ve used a “pin vice” which is basically a little holder for bits allowing you to drill by hand.

Trouble is, these Malifaux minis are cast from a pretty hard white metal, and I suspect my drill bits aren’t the sharpest tools in the box (see what I did there!). So the pinning process just takes me forever.

In an attempt to speed things up I picked up a little Dremel style power tool to take the manual grind out of it and that seemed to be working out ok. That is Until last night, when the little thing just gave up the ghost with what I suspect is a burnt out motor. It made a pitiful whirring sound, slowed right down and smoke started coming out of it!

Serves me right for buying the cheapest I could find. As someone once said, you get what you pay for.

~ by Max Von Deadlock on May 4, 2010.

2 Responses to “Pinning, how do I love thee”

  1. Oh mate, so true that! pinning these with hand is just a pain. Careful with the rotary tool, tho! I used to use dremel for my cynwall elves until once it literally tore an arm off because it got stuck in it for a split second.

    Like

  2. […] way back in 2010 when I talked about how much I loathed pinning […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
