Less Than 10 Days to Go

Another little progress update on the Canoness.

Canoness More WIP

I’ve now got a little bit of the gold work done and the detailing is starting to come together. Also, I’ve started playing about with the parchment so you can see roughly how that might come out. I will probably lighten it back up again a bit then get some freehand script on there before overglazing and shading it again. I’m going to try my hand at some sort of illuminated manuscript style for the freehand which will be interesting.

I also have a good idea how she will be based now and started sculpting that up with fine white Milliput last night. She’ll be on a 40mm cube base with a little bit of ruined gothic wall behind her (from one of the 40K building sets). I’m going to carve/file some tiling on the floor and may even get a couple of church candles made up out of green stuff to place strategically on the floor and to provide a bit of lighting variation.

I’m actually a little worried that the base will be too elaborate and/or oversized for the Salute painting competition. It’s a bit of a quandary really. Essentially I am making this model for myself and I’m really clear that this is the sort of base I want to see her on. Yet she’s also useful practice for entering competitions which is something I want to do more of in future.

I think I’ll just go for it as planned and see how big a deal it is on the day. If it gets downmarked or excluded from the competition then that in itself is good learning. I’ll be proud to have her on display whatever happens. The priority for me is to push my painting skills and the competition is a motivator.

~ by Max Von Deadlock on April 14, 2010.

2 Responses to “Less Than 10 Days to Go”

  1. Stumbled on your blog from the Wyrd forums. Great stuff here, very cool to see the progress!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
