Flames of War Panzergrenadier WIP

Since returning from my brief console-gaming break I’ve gotten rather excited about my Flames of War army and have got stuck into painting some of the vehicles. As I’ve chosen to play late war Germans I get to play with lots of cool and/or iconic stuff like the fearsome Tiger tank and the Sd.Kfz.251 Half-tracks.

C’est la:

Flames of War Mechanised PPanzergrenadier Vehicle WIP

So far I’ve got the camouflage finished and just have some smaller detailing such as the tracks, crew and packs/tools to do. Then it will be the decals and some final weathering (mud on the tracks, that sort of thing). Can’t wait.

I used the airbrush on the camouflage pattern which was something of a learning experience. Despite some wrong turns I’m pretty pleased with the way it came out. Being inspired by the lining technique used by Glen Tarbet in the Art of War modelling book, I decided to give that a go – using a khaki to go around the edges of the panels. I’m pleased with the way it’s come out.

I don’t normally go for the edge lining technique, but on these small scale vehicles it really does help them pop I think.

Flames of War Tiger 1E WIP

Unfortunately though, the overall colour has come out a bit darker and reddish brown than I envisaged heading into the project. This was due to the recommended Vallejo Middlestone base colour being darker than I expected, and then my use of a GW Sepia wash to help give some subtle detail shading. Now I need to decide whether I shall go for consistency with all the other vehicles (I have tons of half-tracks to do for this mechanised force) or do some tonal variation. What do you think?

Flames of War Sd.Kfz.251/1 Half-Tracks WIP

~ by Max Von Deadlock on February 23, 2010.

3 Responses to “Flames of War Panzergrenadier WIP”

  1. Wow looking really good.

    I’ve gone off the boil on my own FoW stuff – endless infantry get very dull! Will have to knuckle down and get back to them.

    Like

    • I can imagine those endless infantry can be a bit daunting. Perhaps explaining why I swiftly moved on to the vehicles after doing one base of them!

      At least with the Germans they tend not to have too many infantry compared to other forces (imagine collecting a Russian infantry army!). Though instead, my mechanised division has shedloads of half-tracks. I think for FoW painting, as with any tabletop wargaming army of this volume, we just need to get a production line mentality going on. I suppose just putting in the odd hour here and there will help chip away at the mountain of minis!

      Definitely highlights the appeal of the skirmish games like Infinity and Malifaux.

      Like

  2. Its a war between the FoW infantry, which will take ages even to get to gaming standard, against painting something more fun. I’ve suprised myself that painting wins out over gaming at the moment.

    I am doing bits on the infantry here and there, but I’ll need to focus to even get them basecoated before our game. I think I just hate feeling obligated! I suspect I will be playing with some undercoated figs, but I’d rather that than put myself off completely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
